The ATC Legal/Prosecution team consists of Attorney Jessica Starns, assisted by Lorie Hebert and Carrie Guillot. The legal division handles all ATC legal matters, including but not limited to, appeals, prosecution of administrative violations, responsible vendor violations, permit suspensions, public records requests, oppositions, and beer cash and liquor credit regulations.
Legal & Prosecution
The Louisiana Alcoholic Beverage Control Law and Regulations in contained in the following sources:
***A current version of both Titles and other relevant statutory sections can be downloaded from the law book link on this page***
ATC administrative hearings are generally held on the second Thursday of every month unless otherwise notified. Hearings are held at 10am and 1pm as follows:
Administrative hearings are held at ATC headquarters located at 8585 Archives Ave. Ste. 220, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. Licensees may bring any witnesses or documentation that they deem useful. Licensees may hire an attorney, but there is no requirement to do so.
- 10am – East Baton Rouge, West Feliciana, East Feliciana, Point Coupee, Tangipahoa, St. Helena, Livingston, St. Tammany, Washington, Ascension, Assumption, St. James, West Baton Rouge, Iberville, Orleans, Lafourche, Terrebonne, Jefferson, Plaquemines, St. Charles, and St. John Parishes.
- 1pm – Calcasieu, Cameron, Beuregard, Vermillion, Allen, Jefferson Davis, Acadia, Lafayette, St. Martin, Iberia, St. Mary, Stephensville, Belle River, Evangeline, St. Landry, Morehouse, Caldwell, Franklin, East Carroll, West Carroll, Madison, Richland, Tensas, Caddo, Bossier, Webster, Claiborne, Bienville, Ouachita, Lincoln, Union, and Jackson Parishes.
- When a licensee is issued an administrative ticket by an ATC enforcement Agent there will be a hearing date listed on the bottom of the ticket.
- The licensee will also receive an official Notice of Violation and Summons to Appear approximately 30 days prior to the hearing date listed on the ticket (Note: these notices are sent to the mailing address provided to ATC on the permit application. AS such, it is extremely important to ensure that your contact information remains up-to-date with ATC at all times). The Notice of Violation will provide a description of the charges, the date, time and location for a hearing, and an assessed fine amount (if available).
Many violations are assessed fines. When assessed a fine the licensee has the option to pay the fine and avoid attending the scheduled administrative hearing. All assessed fines must be paid by 4pm on the day before the scheduled hearing date or attendance at the hearing is mandatory. When a payment is received the case is placed in closed status.
- Persons choosing to pay an assessed fine may do so in person or by mail to one of the following:
a. ATC Headquarters – 8585 Archives Ave. Ste. 220, Baton Rouge, LA 70809 (Attn. Legal)
b. ATC Region Office – 1638 Creswell Extension #3, Opelousas, LA 70570
- If an assessed fine is not stated on the Notice of Violation and Summons to Appear then attendance at the hearing is mandatory by an owner of or manager of the licensee who has been certified and is on record with ATC.
- Continuation Requests must be submitted faxed to (225)925-4747 or emailed to Jessica.email@example.com at least 2 days prior to the scheduled hearing date.